aon nro dt, 2016, plaster, bitumen, PVC foil, water, various sizes 

This work was created as a project of the artist group Various Artists by invitation of the community of the village church of Holleben in relation to the “night of open churches of Saxony-Anhalt” 2016.

On the basis of collected impressions we developed a concept for the exhibition during the “night of open churches of Saxony-Anhalt” on August 13th 2016 and the day of the open monument on September 11th. After three and a half weeks of construction, the opening took place on August 12th, 2016.

We have chosen working methods that make it possible to establish a reciprocal relationship between the exhibits and the existing spatial structure. Central to this was a link to the architecture and material substance of the building. Under the title “aon nro dt”, a merger of the Boolean operators “and”, “or” and “not”, the interrelated connections were summarized, which served as our intervention with the existing structure of the church space, or as a possibility, connections to reflect between the works.

In line with the so-called “St. Petersburg hanging”, a form of particularly dense painting arrangement, flat plaster boxes of different sizes were placed in the church. Each box was lined with PVC foil and bitumen and filled with water. The water above the dark background formed a fragile mirror surface, constituting images of the room which changed depending on the observer’s position. The imposing height of the ceiling as well as other elements of the uprising architecture of the sacred building, in the immaterial space of the water reflections were transferred into depth.

14. September 2017

aon nro dt, 2016, Gips, Bitumen, PVC Folie, Maße variabel 

Diese Arbeit entstand als Projekt der Künstlergruppe Various Artists auf Einladung der Gemeinde der Dorfkirche Hofleben hin zur Nach der Kirchen Sachsen-Anhalts 2016.

Anhand vor Ort gesammelter Eindrücke entwickelten wir ein Konzept für die Ausstellung während der Nacht der Kirchen  Sachsen-Anhalts am 13. August 2016 und dem Tag des offenen Denkmals am 11. September. Nach dreieinhalbwöchiger Aufbauzeit fand am 12. August 2016 die Eröffnung statt.

Wir haben uns für Arbeitsmethoden entschieden, die es ermöglichen, eine wechselseitige Bezüglichkeit der Ausstellungsobjekte und dem bestehenden Raumgefüge herzustellen. Von zentraler Bedeutung hierfür erschien uns eine Verknüpfung zur Architektur und zur materiellen Substanz des Gebäudes. Unter dem Titel „ aon nro dt “, eine Verschmelzung der Boolschen Operatoren „and“, „or“ und „not“, wurden die wechselbezüglichen Verbindungen zusammengefasst, die unser Eingriff mit dem bestehenden Gefüge des Kirchenraums einging, bzw. als Möglichkeit diente, Verbindungen zwischen den Arbeiten zu reflektieren.

In Anlehnung an die sogenannte „Petersburger Hängung“, einer Form besonders dichter Gemäldeanordnung, wurden im Kirchenraum flache Gipskästen unterschiedlicher Größe platziert. Jeder Kasten war mit schwarzer Folie und Bitumen ausgekleidet und mit Wasser befüllt. Das Wasser über dem dunklen Untergrundgrund bildete eine fragile Spiegelfläche, deren Bild sich je nach Betrachterposition veränderte. Die Höhe des Raums wurde im immateriellen Raum der Wasserspiegelung in die Tiefe überführt.

14. September 2017